Richmond’s history has a hold on me


DSC_0235a2

Capt. Christopher Newport's cross, laid on Gamble's Hill, near where he first landed in Richmond more than 400 years ago.

I’ve lived in Richmond for more than 20 years, but it took me almost 15 years to get to a level of appreciation that pushed me to dig deeper.  To know more.

I spent the past five years working on the DiscoverRichmond.com website. Sadly, it is now mostly defunct — here’s what is left of it. I want it back.

It has taken the better part of a year of denial for me to come to grips with the notion that I could shake my desire to read, study, photograph, experience and write about Richmond. I can’t stop, I love it too much.

I had a great time the past couple of years taking my family with me on adventures and learning about new places, documenting and re-documenting our favorite spots over and over again. I want to do that again….and keep doing it.

Only recently did I finally figure out that my efforts on the DR site were essentially blog entries, and that I could just make my own blog.  This is my new place to share my discoveries.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Marsha Frith on September 11, 2009 at 9:40 am

    Finally!!! Just what you need to do!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

