My ‘Wish List’ for James River Park System


Pipeline Rapids walkway in downtown RichmondI love the James River and spend a lot of my free time kayaking, swimming, biking and hiking wherever I can in Richmond.

I am also dedicated to several  volunteer groups that help clean, maintain and restore some of the river’s best features.

Many people in those groups have a good sense of the best ways we can improve the way we utilize the river and its resources — and ways to make those visions a reality.

The James River Park System is now protected by a conservation easement that limits development, but that doesn’t stop us from developing new ways to enjoy ourselves when we visit.

Richmond.com published Part I of a Top 10 Wish List of the things I’d love to see happen in our treasured park system.

2 responses to this post.

  1. I’d like to see the canal open to boats for an opposite reason: I don’t like rapids and would like to be able to get around them. Let’s open the canal to two-way traffic!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

