Eight places I need to eat in Richmond


I asked readers to give me a list of eight places you eat in Richmond, and got many great comments and suggestions. I didn’t expect to do a follow, but I got so many suggestions that I compiled a list of eight places I need to eat in Richmond.

Thank you to those that made suggestions and posted their own lists. I wrote that I think you can tell a lot about a person by where they like to eat. Where you choose to spend your time and money for just one meal is one thing, but associating and aligning yourself with places you consistently — your favorites — is another.

With restaurants, as in life, it is good to break out of the mold and try something new!

Again, there is just one rule to this quest: 1) Must be local restaurantsNOT a national chain. Here is mine in reverse alphabetical order:

Stronghill Dining Company, 1200 North Boulevard: I live in the Northside, and support the rebirth of the Boulevard. I haven’t been to Stronghill yet despite a couple of attempts by my wife or myself to slide the restaurant in. Happening soon.

Outer Banks Seafood Co., 11400 West Huguenot Road: I don’t love the location out in Chesterfield — I would have preferred the old Rio Grande spot at Stony Point Fashion Park — but I love the Outer Banks and seafood. I must do all I can to support things I love in my city.

Lemaire, 101 West Franklin Street: Top of the line, I’ve always been told. My wife and I need to go there if for no other reason than to get the monkey off my back about the time I put playing soccer over getting a free night’s stay with at The Jefferson Hotel followed by free brunch at Lemaire. Come on! I was young and didn’t know what I was doing….

8 1/2, 401 Strawberry Street: Total recommendation! I was told that the pizza rocks. I’ve been by the place several times on the way to Strawberry Street Cafe or the market and it smells delicious.

Can Can Brasserie, 3120 West Cary Street: I’ve been to France and usually only like French cuisine when I’m in France, but I’ve been told I need to try it before I knock it.  Plus, the place looks so happening when you drive through Carytown at night.

The Boathouse at Rocketts Landing, 4708 East Old Main Street: I’ve seen the view of the James River and the city skyline once during the day, but my cousin loves the place and that’s good enough for me.  

balliceaux, 203 North Lombardy Street: I used to love going to Bogart’s when it was in this location, and if for no other reason I must go to balliceaux to satisfy my curiosity. Plus, I just love the location. Lombardy in The Fan is a cool street.

Alamo, 2202 Jefferson Avenue: Another long-time recommendation, but I’ll admit, it doesn’t take much to talk me into trying barbecue.  I am a man after all. Plus, getting a chance to hang in Church Hill is a treat to a history guy like myself.

Honorable mention: Buckhead’s, 8510 Patterson Avenue; Pescado’s China Street, 626 China Street; Cafe Rustica, 414 East Main Street; Acacia Midtown, 2601 West Cary Street.

6 responses to this post.

  1. It’s an amazing piece of writing for all the web people; they will get benefit from it I am sure.

    Reply

  2. Hello There. I found your weblog the usage of msn.
    This is an extremely smartly written article.
    I will make sure to bookmark it and come back to learn extra of your
    useful information. Thank you for the post.
    I’ll certainly return.

    Reply

  3. I ate at Alamo yesterday for the first time. Great BBQ!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Matt on September 3, 2010 at 11:05 am

    I’ve hit many of these…all worth it. Need to do Outer Banks. But soccer is more important than anything else 🙂

    Reply

  5. If you live in Northside, you really should check out Tastebuds on MacArthur.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

