Exploring the James River with a GPS


Mitchell and Mark exploring the James River with a GPSWhen I relax, there is rarely any rest. It’s best for me to be on the move, exploring and keeping active. The sights and sounds of a paddle trip relax my mind while my body stays in motion.

But I’m not a whitewater enthusiast – my trips involve exploring the remote islands, fields of granite boulders, and historic ruins along the Falls of the James. On a recent springtime kayak trip from Huguenot Flatwater to the Reedy Creek takeout, we added hiking and treasure hunting.

Geo-caching is a treasure hunting game played with GPS devices. The idea is to locate hidden “geocaches” and share your experiences online. There are more than 1,200 registered on www.geocaching.com in the Richmond area, and more than one million worldwide.

We noticed there were a few geocaches on islands that are only reachable by water. We had our mission!

See what happened on our adventure at Richmond.com

One response to this post.

  1. After study a few of the content on your internet site now, and i genuinely appreciate your method of blogging. I bookmarked it to my bookmark web site list and will be checking back soon. Pls take a look at my web page likewise and let me know what you believe.

    Reply

Leave a comment